• Tue. Mar 21st, 2023

T20 World Cup 2007 | Pakistan will never forget today’s date, India became world champion by defeating Pakistan under the captaincy of MS Dhoni


Sep 24, 2022

Join Now

-Vinay Kumar

In the first ICC T20 World Cup 2007 in the history of international cricket, the Indian team won the World Cup under the captaincy of the then captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni (MS Dhoni). Under the leadership of MS Dhoni, India’s youth team created history by winning the first edition of the T20 World Cup. The title clash, that is, the final. In the match, the team of India and Pakistan were face to face.

The final match was very exciting. The situation in the field that day was such that the victory was almost in the hands of Pakistan, but the match changed in the last minute and India defeated Pakistan.

It is worth noting that, in the year 2007 itself, a few months back, the performance of the Indian team full of legends in the ICC ODI World Cup-2007 in March was very disappointing. In that tournament, great-known batsmen like Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, along with the captain of that team, Rahul Dravid, proved to be furious. And, the Indian team was out of that World Cup in the group stage itself. Legendary players were also involved.

However, apart from MS Dhoni, Robin Uthappa, some new players were also included in that team. Crores of Indian fans present in the country and abroad had become angry and disappointed. But, after about 5 months, 24 September forgot that pain and MS Dhoni became the king of crores of hearts.

read also

Remind you that, on 24 September 2007, the final match of the ICC T20 World Cup was played in Johannesburg. In that title clash, there was a war between India and Pakistan. Batting first, Team India scored 157 runs and set a target of 158 runs for Pakistan to win. In that memorable match, opener Gautam Gambhir played an excellent innings of 75 runs. Chasing the target, Pakistan came very close to victory.

Pakistan had strengthened its grip in the match with the explosive innings of Misbah ul Haq in the last over. Now Pakistan had to score 6 runs in 4 balls. Joginder Sharma was doing the last over for India. Misbah’s shot was caught by Sreesanth in an attempt to play one of his balls smartly. It was Pakistan’s 10th wicket. Captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni snatched victory from the jaws of Pakistan and India became the champions. Pakistan will hardly ever forget that pain.

In that historic match, India’s all-rounder Irfan Pathan became the ‘Man of the Match’ (T20 World Cup, 2007). He had dropped 3 wickets for just 16 runs in the bowling of 4 overs.

Indian Playing XI of IND vs PAK match

Gautam Gambhir, Yusuf Pathan, Robin Uthappa, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Irfan Pathan Harbhajan Singh, Joginder Sharma, Sreesanth, RP Singh.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *