• Sun. Apr 2nd, 2023

    Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 | Ireland team out of Women’s T20 World Cup, defeated by so many wickets at the hands of West Indies


    Feb 18, 2023

    In the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023 being played in South Africa, there was a match between West Indies and Ireland in Group-B on Friday, February 17 at 10.30 pm. This match was the third match of this latest season for both the teams.

    Significantly, this match WI-W vs IRE-W T20 World Cup 2023 was very exciting. West Indies beat Ireland by 6 wickets in a closely fought match and registered their first win in their account. Ireland lost their third match in a row and were eliminated from the semi-final race in the World Cup.

    read this also

    Ireland won the toss and won

    Batting first. The team scored 137 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in 20 overs and gave West Indies a target of 138 runs to win. For Ireland, Orla Prendergast played a brilliant inning of 61 runs in 47 balls. Shamlia Connell took the maximum 3 wickets from West Indies. Apart from them, Karishma Ramhairak and Effie Fletcher got 2-2 wickets.

    Captain Hayley Mathews played the biggest unbeaten innings of 66 runs in 53 balls for the West Indies, who came out to chase the challenge of 138 runs for victory over Ireland. And, in a thrilling match, the West Indies beat Ireland with 1 ball to spare. Hayley Mathews was awarded the ‘Player of the Match’. Chinelle Henry of the West Indies also played an important inning of 34 runs in 28 balls.

    With 1 win and 2 losses, the West Indies team is at the fourth position in Group-B with 2 points with a -0.913 net run rate.

    Playing XI of both countries

    Ireland-W Playing-XI

    Laura Delany (Captain), Amy Hunter, Gaby Lewis, Orla Prendergast, Louise Little, Eimear Richardson, Arlene Kelly, Leah Paul, Mary Waldron, Cara Murray, Jane Maguire

    West Indies-W Playing-XI

    Hayley Matthews (Captain), Shemaine Campbelle (Vice Captain), Rashada Williams, Aaliyah Alleyne, Shabika Gajnabi, Chinelle Henry, Afy Fletcher, Trishan Holder, Zaida James, Shamilia Connell, Karishma Ramharack

    -Vinay Kumar

    Source link