• Fri. Mar 24th, 2023

    Team India Selection Committee | BCCI announces five-member senior men’s selection committee, Chetan Sharma to continue as chairman


    Jan 7, 2023

    New Delhi: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the appointments of the senior men’s selection committee on Saturday. At the same time, the board re-appointed Chetan Sharma as the chairman of selectors. The BCCI said, ‘Chetan Sharma has been recommended for the post of chairman of the senior men’s selection committee.

    Apart from this, BCCI has announced four more names for the senior men’s national selection committee. Apart from Chetan Sharma, Shiv Sunder Das, Subroto Banerjee, Salil Ankola and Sreedharan Sharath will also be part of this panel.

    the committee was dismissed

    It is noteworthy that after the poor performance of the Indian team in the T20 World Cup in 2022, the selection committee headed by Chetan Sharma was sacked by the BCCI. However, now once again this committee has been formed under his chairmanship.

    read this also

    Total 600 applications were received

    The Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) comprising Sulakshana Naik, Ashok Malhotra and Jatin Paranjpe had initiated the extensive process to select the members of the All India Senior Selection Committee. At the same time, BCCI had received a total of 600 applications for the existing five posts. These posts were advertised by the board on November 18, 2022.

    The board further informed, “After due deliberation and careful consideration, the CAC shortlisted 11 persons for personal interview. Based on the interview the committee has recommended the following candidates for the Senior Men’s National Selection Committee: Chetan Sharma, Shiv Sunder Das, Subroto Banerjee, Salil Ankola, Sreedharan Sharath.”

    Source link